Don’t judge a book…

I’ve been asked more than once if I’m a runner, because apparently I’m built like one. Um, the last time I ran a mile was probably during my senior year of high school. I have almost zero endurance when it comes to moving quickly. I love hiking because you can take your time, enjoy the views – but running? For more than 10 seconds? No, thank you.

Lately, however, I’ve been inspired by girls I know who also don’t like running, but they do it anyway. Some of them are fellow moms who have actually run in races recently. I hear about them running miles at a time and I’m amazed. I would love to be able to do that! I’d love to actually be in shape, to be stronger and to have more energy for keeping up with my 4 young lads this summer.

With this intent I just bought my first pair of new athletic shoes in well over a decade. And this morning I hit the road. I walked up the mountain of a hill on which our house resides, considered that a good warm-up, then jogged past an elderly couple taking a morning walk together. “Hi!” I said brightly, and smiled. Jogged down the street, pushed into a hard run (cuz that’s what Dan said I needed to do in order to tone “my jiggly areas” [my term, not his]), around the corner, and slowed to a walk. “Dear Lord!” I heaved, trying not to throw up. And that’s how it went, for a mile and a half – run, heave, gag, walk, breathe, run, heave, gag, walk, breathe… Oh, it was a blast. I have more admiration than ever for those of you who run.

So, while I may look like a runner, I currently am far from one. Will can’t understand why I’m not a good runner – I guess when you’re a 6-year-old boy running comes as naturally as breathing. For this momma, though, running seriously impedes my ability to breathe. However, I’m glad I’ve got NEW running shoes, because that will keep me from not ever doing it again. But man, I sure hope it gets easier!

This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t judge a book…

  1. Amen, I’m with you! Good for you, Jamie…keep up the good work. I’ll run vicariously through you, okay?? ;)

  2. Nicole says:

    Good for you, Jamie! I really don’t like running, and still do it as infrequently as possible. The running bug did not bite me despite my efforts :) But walking with a bit of jogging interspersed I can handle!

  3. tiffanynevil says:

    Yay Jamie! Yep, you do look like a runner. I can honestly say that the running is working. I started late last summer and I’ve noticed a difference in my jiggly areas. And, it’s true, once you practice and you get your lungs to be able to handle more, the rest is fun. I like it now because my brain goes silent. It takes a while before it’s just empty but it is so pleasant to just run and not think…at all. Keep at it with those new running shoes! And be proud of yourself for getting out there.

Leave a Reply

